Synthesizers, oh how I love thee…

I know I’ll get a lot of grief from my fellow rock purists, and my business partner and co-author of our blog here will probably ban me from posting ever again, but I’ll admit it , I love synthesizers.  And I think deep down, most pop/rock listeners do to.

Tell me synthesizers didn’t make “Dark Side of the Moon” groovier. Tell me synthesizers didn’t make “Songs in the Key of Life” funkier.  Tell me synthesizers didn’t make “Physical Graffiti” more mystical, and “Baba O’Riley” more wastelandy.  And tell me, honestly, that you can’t help but do your best robot dance while belting out the lyrics to “Cars” by Gary Numan in that mechanical, lifeless, futuristic humanoid voice you summon up upon the first hand clap of the song.

The synthesizer has gotten a bad rap over the years.  It probably all started when keyboard players started wearing those skinny ties with the piano keys silk screened on them.  The advent of the Keytar was a low point in the evolution of the synthesizer as well.  But if one can overlook those obominations of musical design and look objectively at how the synth has expanded the horizons of pop/rock music, one will be amazed at the versatility of the instrument and how it has enhanced our musical experience over the years.

My favorite period in Rock/Pop history is the timeframe between 1975 and 1985.  Mainly because of the sheer diversity of music that was being produced  in that period, rock, punk, disco, rap, new wave, and the various shades and tones of each.

I would argue that it was during the period noted above that the synthesizer truly made it’s impact on Rock/Pop music.  Sure, bands had used the instrument prior to this period, most notably Pink Floyd, Genesis, Yes, and some of the other prog rock bands of the period.  But the mid-70’s is when the potential of the synthesizer began to present itself and alter the sound of our music.

I’m not going to go into a history of the synthesizer in this post.  No I merely wanted to express my appreciation of the instrument and point out to all the naysayers that your musical listening experience over the past 40 or so years would have been far inferior if it were not for the almighty synthesizer. 

I just can’t get enough, I just can’t enough. Of the synthesizer.

Proving once again that we do more than just show you the best deals in the Phoenix real estate market; we show you how to get the most out of living in Arizona, and try to help you get the most out of what you are listening to.

One Response

  1. mmmmmm…wastelandy.

Leave a Reply

