Mother’s Day Special – Top 10 Songs about Mom

Marge Simpson

Moms.  None of us would be here without ’em. I know, my brilliance knows no end.

Their influence, wisdom, and love are with us throughout our lives.  So to honor moms all over the world on their special day I assembled a list of songs that either include the word Mom, Mother, Mama, etc., are about moms, or include some special advice only a mother could dispense.

Maybe your mama don’t dance, but she can still rock ‘n roll.

1. “Mama Said There’d Be Days Like This” by the Shirelle’s – Mom’s have always been good about warning kids about the ways of the world.  This is an old school tune from back in the day for those moms who may be celebrating their…well we won’t say how many mother’s days they’ve celebrated. Just know that they get better with time. Like fine wine:

2. “Days Like This” by Van Morrison – Since I was on the “days like this” train of thought I thought I would include this one by Van the Man.  It still packs as much wisdom as the Shirelle’s song, just at much more leisurely, Sunday brunch type tempo. This clip was the only one I could find on YouTube for this song but I found it profoundly fitting for most moms:

3. “Mama Said Knock You Out” by L.L. Cool J – Mama’s say a lot of things don’t they?  Although I can’t ever remember my mom telling me to knock you, or anyone for that matter, out.  Even still, it’s a classic hip hop song from one of my favorite hip hop artists.  I’m sure Mamma Cool J was right proud of her son, Lil’ L.L., when he wrote this:

4. “Shop Around” by Smokey Robinson and the Miracles – I CAN remember my mom dispensing this advice.  But I think it was when I was looking for a new car, not a girl.  Either way, whether it’s a girl, car, or shoes, it’s sound advice. One of my favorite Motown classics, smooth as silk. I’m doing the “Mashed Potato” as I write and listen to this song, so excse me for anyyy typos:

5. “That’s Allright Mama” by Elvis – Can’t ever go wrong with The King in any list.  One of Elvis’s original Sun Records songs. Recorded in 1954 it still sounds great today.  No wonder our Mamma’s (and possibly Grandmammas) were so hot for the dude:

6. “Mother and Child Reunion” by Paul Simon -The story goes that Paul Simon wrote this song after ordering a Chicken and egg dish at a Chinese restaurant.  My memories of this song harken back to helping mom clean the house on Saturday mornings with “Rhymin’ Simon” spinning on the Murphy family turntable.  Sorry, no video for this one.  But I found an audio link. Enjoy. Just click on the song title to hear.

7. “Mama Told Me Not To Come” by Three Dog Night – That aint’ the way to have fun son.  No truer lyrics have been sung on the behalf of moms the world over.  Nancy Reagan should have just used this song in her “Just Say No” campaign.   By the looks of the  Three Dog boys in this clip, it looked like they may not have heeded mama’s advice. By the way, what is that funny cigarette you’re smoking?:

8. “Surrender” by Cheap Trick – This song could be included on my Father’s day list too (and probably will, so look out for it).  Again, mom dispensing some helpful advice, “…she also told me stay away, you’ll never know what you’ll catch.”  Always an awkward moment when mom is lecturing you on V.D.  But just know that she loves you:

9. “Mother’s Little Helper” by The Rolling Stones – Every mom can relate to the sentiment in the song at one time or another.  Just a little something in the cupboard to take the edge off a day with the kids.  Just make sure the childproof cap is secure.  Again, just click on the song title to hear.

10. “Motherless Children” by Eric Clapton – Maybe not technically a song about moms, but it’s one of my favorite Clapton songs. So I’m sticking with it.  Hey, it has “Mother” in the title:

Rock on Moms. Happy Mother’s Day.Proving once again that we do more than just show you the best deals in the Phoenix real estate market; we show you how to get the most out of living in Arizona, and try to help you get the most out of what you are listening to.

Leave a Reply

