Shhhhhh, don’t tell anyone!

guilty-pleasures1

We’ve all got ’em. Guilty pleasures.  Whether they be food, movies, or other nefarious activities, everyone has something they hide from others for fear of ridicule. Or worse.

Well I’m hear to confess.  Hi, I’m Jerry M. and I like crappy music. (From the crowd) “Hi Jerry.”  As much as I like good music, there are those songs that no matter how cheesey, how bad they are, I just can’t resist.   And here are a few (believe me though, I could have come up with about a thousand others as well).  I’ve included some YouTube links for your listening pleasure as well. Just click on the hyperlink on the song title. Come on…. you know you want to listen:

1. “Wake Me Up Before You Go Go”by Wham.  From the opening, “Ja-ja-ja-jitterbug” this song is pure pop pablum. But I can’t resist.  Whenever I hear it I want to throw on my old Dolphin Shorts, Espadrills, and a flourescent t-shirt and go skip dancing down the street.

2. “Easy Lover”by Phil Collins and Philip Bailey.  Nothing says cheese like Phil Collins. But at least Philip Bailey (from Earth, Wind, and Fire) adds a little funk soul brotha to melt the Velveeta and turn this dish into a tasty treat.  Phil Collins should never attempt to dance again.

3. “My Girl” by Chilliwack. Chilliwack!!! You may say. But ahhhh, I say.  Anyone old enough to remember the early days of MTV will remember this song on regular rotation.  It’s a lost Crappy Classic.  You won’t be able to get the intro out of your head after listening.  Much like “I want my baby back, baby back, baby back….” Chili’s jingle.  Funny how anything with Chili in it stays with you.

4. “Don’t Go Breaking My Heart”by Elton John w/Kiki Dee. To think we all believed Elton was singing this about a woman back then.  The 70’s were a mixed up period. This is a good song. Plain and simple.  Most guys wouldn’t admit to liking it. But I bet most guys would be singing along to it if they knew no one was watching. And that is the TRUE definition of a guilty pleasure song.

5. “Music” by Madonna. Can’t stand the artist herself, but I love this song.  It’s got a good beat and you can dance to it.  Plus the fact that Ali G appears in the video gives it instant credibility in my book.

6. “Separate Ways”by Journey. Probably the worst video in the history of videos.  When you consider that Journey was one of the biggest bands in the world at the time this song was recorded, yet they still went about as low budget as you can on the video. It’s just appalling. In fact, it’s so bad I couldn’t even find a YouTube clip for it. So you’ll just have to go from memory. Probably not a memory you want to keep though. But the song rocks.

7. “Oh Sherrie”by Steve Perry. You may be saying, “Oh, Jerry! Oh Sherrie?!” Yes, by Steve Perry. Following on the heels of Desperate Ways Steve Perry went solo and wrote this gem.  Accompanied by an equally bad video. I should have been gone after hearing this the first time, but… something about it holds my attention. Like watching the Tyra Banks show. 

8. “Everybody Dance Now” by C&C Music Factory. I just can’t fight the urge to do the Running Man everytime I hear this song.  The fact that my 5 year old son Tyler likes it too only solidifies it as a bonified guilty pleasure in my book. Don’t worry, I’ll keep an eye on Tyler.

9. “You Make Me Feel Mighty Real” by Sylvester.  I’ll admit it, I like a lot of disco songs. This one doesn’t get enough play though in my opinion. The fact that it was performed by a cross dresser adds credence to my earlier comment about the 70’s. You won’t be able to keep your head from bobbing to this one.

10. “Break My Stride” by Matthew Wilder.  Ohhhhh, you know this song. Believe me, you know it.  How Matthew Wilder came up with the ingenious addition of another sylabble to the work “break” (sung as “break-ah” in the song) is beyond me. I added the Solid Gold appearance video just for a bit more schmaltz. You just can’t be sad when you hear this song.

Well, that’s all for now.  Give us some feedback. Let us know your guilty pleasures. If you dare.

3 Responses

  1. “Desperate Ways” LOL. Great Freudian slip, dude. It’s “Separate”. But you’re right, the video is hilariously, desperately cheesy. And worse than Velveeta. Famously so.

  2. Doh! You’re right. I think I was listening to Desperate by not Serious by Adam Ant while I was writing that one. Must have caused my synapses to cross.

  3. The picture of you singing “wake me up before you go go” into the the wooden spoon microphone that you’ve spontaneously snatched from a drawer in the kitchen is enough to make me want to stay out of the kitchen for a while. It’s kind of terrifying…

Leave a Reply

